Failure to Launch

Launch failure of a Long March 3B rocket with ...

Failure To Launch: Monday March 2, 2009 10:04pm

I’ve spent the last two days trying to figure out how to send a story out. If I ever do uncover the vast secrets behind sending out a word document, I shall praise the lord.

My self induced hiatus from technology is to blame. It used to be that I had an understanding of how to manipulate these electronic boxes. But that was ages ago when people were still required to enter actual program names and directives in that archaic language lost, which is DOS.

I’ve sent submissions via e-mail often, it’s just that when I set up my first e-mail account on YAHOO I used the servers an internet source  directed me to use.

Unbeknownst to me my instructions were dated, and thus useless.

Having fixed the compatibility/ port problem I still wasn’t able to submit my word documents. The centers of solution pointed in the direction of Windows Live Mail, and here I am writing in the blog rather than checking to see if I could NOW send out my submissions.

I guess my point is this: If you’re a young writer, and you don’t know much about computers, get yourself in a computer class, and fast.

If I hadn’t spent  years writing on a typewriter, I wouldn’t be in this fix, but I wouldn’t change that experience for the world.

There’s something inherently mystical about that harmonious clickity-clack. The bell just doesn’t quite ring the same with these newfangled devices.

Thoroughly Annoyed,

S.C. Denton

Leave a Reply

